Are you and your spouse about to dismiss the vows you made a few years ago? Before filing for a divorce in Utah, you must know some things first.
Utah is the place to be if you intend to divorce the spouse that you just happened to fall in love with. It is a state that is open when it comes to divorce.
If you want to know more information on what you should do before you file for divorce in Utah, then read on.
- No-Fault State
Utah is a no-fault divorce state, which means that you do not need to prove that your spouse did anything wrong in order to get a divorce.
Instead, you simply need to state that the marriage is irretrievably broken and that there is no hope for reconciliation.
- Community Property State
When deciding to end a marriage, it is important to understand how Utah divorce laws may impact the division of property and assets.
Utah is a community property state, which means that all property and assets acquired during the marriage must be divided equitably between the spouses.
This can include both physical property, such as furniture and vehicles, as well as intangible property, like retirement accounts and stocks. If the couple is unable to come to an agreement on their own, the court will make the final decision.
- Divorce Waiting Period
Utah requires a 90-day waiting period from the time the divorce is filed until it is finalized. This means that you will need to be separated from your spouse for at least 90 days before the divorce can be finalized.
- Child Custody and Support
When it comes to child support, Utah courts use a “percentage of income” guideline to determine the amount of support to be paid. This guideline is based on the income of the non-custodial parent and the number of children involved.
If you are getting a divorce in Utah, it is important to consult with an attorney to discuss your legal rights and options. They can help you understand the divorce process and ensure that your rights are protected throughout the process.
Click here to know the right questions to ask a divorce lawyer before hiring them.
- Mandatory Divorce Education Class
In Utah, couples seeking a divorce must attend a mandatory divorce education class.
The class is designed to help couples understand the process and what to expect. The class also covers important topics such as communication and conflict resolution.
Learn How to File a Divorce in Utah the Right Way
If you are considering filing for divorce in Utah, it is important to be aware of the state’s laws and requirements. Utah is a no-fault divorce state, which means that you do not need to prove grounds for divorce.
However, there are still some important things to consider before filing. Make sure to hire an experienced divorce attorney that can help you navigate the legal process and protect your rights.
Did you find this article helpful? Check out the rest of our blog now!